Good ol’ Ballynahinch

An Extraordinarily Important Announcement

Raphaela Weissman
2 min readDec 7, 2022

--

Hi everyone!

I’m here to announce that I have a new project. You may recall that I plunged into German literature and ruminated on how we can maintain closeness with the people in our lives over great distances and through circumstances like a global pandemic by using art as a bridge for connection, and channeled the adventures of a postmodern man-boy in war-torn Poland to investigate my own relationship with my mother.

Remember that? Ok, cool.

So now, instead of that, I’m going to watch all of Colin Farrell’s movies and write about them.

I have had this idea for a new writing project, in some form, for quite some time. I had other actors in mind, and I’m not going to tell you who they are, because from where I’m sitting right now, having not begun this endeavor yet, this idea sounds incredible and I could do it for the rest of my life hopping from actor to actor (or director, or hey, all of the films of a certain costume designer or sound editor, sure, bring it on).

Why Colin Farrell? Well, I think he’s really good. I recently saw the excellent and extremely Irish movie The Banshees of Inisherin, by Martin McDonagh, a playwright and screenwriter I’ve loved for many many years, and I thought, hey, you know who’s a good actor? This Colin Farrell guy. There’s a glimpse into my process!

So, to the best of my ability, I am going to watch all of his filmography. (I have a new TV, is another reason for this project. Movie and TV buff that I am, I have been watching all of it crouched over a laptop screen for… twenty years? Something like that. Now I have an actual screen intended for viewing things while you sit on a couch, and I can even channel flip, which is a pleasure I have not experienced since I was a child, except when I stay at a hotel, something I do, I’m not kidding, about 70% to be able to flip channels on a TV.)

All right! Who’s ready to get their Farrell on?? Thank you as always for reading, and the next time you hear from me, I will be reporting from deep in the Farrellverse.

So, where to begin? Okay, well the first credit for Colin on IMDB is as “Young Man in Cinema №2” in Frankie Starlight, which stars Matt Dillon and Gabriel Byrne and (based on those facts alone) sounds delightful, so I’m going to start there. I may not have a ton to say about the nuances of Young Man in Cinema №2’s performance, but then again, he may surprise me and steal the whole show. I’ll see you there.

--

--

Raphaela Weissman

Raphaela is a writer living in Seattle, Washington. She is the author of the novel Monsters: https://unbound.com/books/monsters/